Purchase to Support Our Program

“[A] refreshing, smoothly written debut.”
Booklist

Boys of the Beast

Written by Monica Zepeda
Published by Lee & Low Books

Three cousins. Four days. One car. This smart and fearless road-trip novel is perfect for fans of David Levithan, Benjamin Alire Saenz, or Meg Medina.

THE ROUTE. Seventeen hundred miles from Portland, Oregon, to Albuquerque, New Mexico.

THE BEAST.Grandma Lupe’s 1988 Ford Thunderbird Turbo Coupe.

THE BOYS.Three strangers who also happen to be cousins:

Matt.Evangelical Christian. Earnest. Film nerd. Carrying a dream to make movies—despite the future his father has planned for him.

Ethan.Jewish. Gay. Sci-fi nerd. Carrying a phone that contains his entire relationship with Levi—unless they finally get to meet IRL on this trip.

Oscar.Stoner. Smartass. Too cool to be a nerd. Carrying a letter that haunts him—no matter how hard he tries to escape it.

THE END …just might be a new beginning.

Primary ISBN: 9781643790954
Publication Date: April 2022
Available As: Hardcover, eBook
Young Adult , Age 14 or older

Community Represented:

Themes: , , , , , , , ,

Setting: United States

Character's Place in the Immigration Journey: 2nd Generation

Click here for details about how we define our titles.

Engagement Projects & Resources:

Share your favorite resources for this book with info@imyourneighborbooks.org.

Educator’s Guide

DOWNLOAD Lesson Plans & Ideas
Source: Lee & Low Books